top of page

PS3 - Desk Holder and PS3a - Graphic Design


This week's first assignment involved practicing graphic design principles by designing an ad for a combination salt and pepper grinder. I was surprised that the most challenging part--for me, at least--was finding the best way to execute a color scheme. Experimenting with palettes wasn't that hard, but finding ways to use them took me a long time. I found myself unsatisfied with a lot of the gradients, colored wave patterns, and picture backgrounds that I tried to appy. I ended up with a red monochromatic scheme and gradient background that I thought looked best, as it seemed simple but also engaging.

The rest of the week will be dedicated to the second part of PS3, the desk object holder / stand. I've

decided to pursue an iPhone holder with an adjustable viewing angle and integrated headphone and charger storage - something I wish I had at my desk at work! I have sketches and the SolidWorks model completed and parts on order at McMaster-Carr, so all that's left is actual fabrication. I'll start by cutting different sized holes in the acrylic sheet to see what feels best and most secure with the aluminum bar and rubber gaskets that I ordered. Once I know the feel that I want, I'll fabricate the complete assembly.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page